Join the celebration!

Ordination

The Unitarian Universalist Church of Boulder
&
Boulder Valley Unitarian Universalist Fellowship
invite you to attend the

Ordination of Emily Conger
into Unitarian Universalist ministry


Saturday, October 3, 2020
1pm PT / 2pm MT / 3pm CT / 4pm ET
ONLINE

Zoom Meeting
Meeting ID: 959 7881 1389
Passcode: 864235

Order of Service

See info on speakers and musicians.

Guestbook

Answer these two questions on Menti.

Offering

Select “Give to Conger Ordination”

Live Transcript

Automated live with Otter.ai

Things to Do Right Now!

Here are some ways that Emily would love for you to engage with the ordination in advance.

Collaborative Art Project

Everyone is invited to participate!

In order to make an online ordination more embodied, we are inviting you to send in material in advance. These will be used for a ritual during the service and made into a tapestry afterward by Rev. Jo VonRue.

1. Choose a piece of cloth (Any cloth will do, about 8″x8″)
2. Trace your hand on it in marker. (Don’t cut it out.)
3. Write your name and one word or phrase of a wish/blessing for Emily’s ministry on the hand.
4. Mail it to Emily Conger, 4 Phelps St., Salem, MA 01970

(Even if it arrives after the ordination, it can still be used in the tapestry).

Photo Processional

Clergy, seminarians, religious educators, youth coordinators, music directors, and administrators are invited to participate!

To be included in the photo processional of religious professionals, please send the following to Scott Youmans:
– picture
– full name
– role
– and location.

Robing Room for Religious Professionals

There will be a pre-ceremony space for welcome, centering, and prayer. Clergy, seminarians, religious educators, youth coordinators, music directors, and administrators are invited to participate!

Saturday, October 3, 2020
12:30pm PT / 1:30 pm MT / 2:30pm CT / 3:30pm ET

Three women in black graduation robes pose for a selfie: one woman is black, one woman is latina, one woman is white

Ordination Service Highlights

Homilist

We will be blessed with a homily preached by
The Reverend Theresa I. Soto.

Reverend Soto is the senior minister of First Unitarian Church of Oakland, California, and the author of Spilling the Light: Meditations on Hope and Resilience.

Latinx person smiling, wearing big glasses, a red sweater, and a yellow flower

Charge to the Minister

The charge to the minister will be delivered by The Reverend Janet Newton. This charge is traditionally delivered by a colleague who knows the ordinand well and can invite them to more fully live into their call to ministry, with balance and grace.

Rev. Newton serves as the Minister of First Parish Church of Berlin, MA.

Charge to the People

The charge to the people will be delivered by Julica Hermann de la Fuente. This charge is often an invitation for all who are gathered into deeper, more grounded work.

Hermann de la Fuente serves as the Director for Anti-Racism and Anti-Oppression Ministries at First Universalist Church of Minneapolis.

Offering

During the service, you will be invited to make a financial contribution to support important ministries. The offering will be split between the Living Tradition Fund and TRUUsT. Please give generously.
https://uucb.breezechms.com/give/online
Select “Give to Conger Ordination”

Living Tradition Fund

of the UUA

Everyone should be treated with kindness and compassion, particularly in times of need. The Living Tradition Fund will help provide scholarships, debt reduction grants, and financial assistance in times of need to seminarians, ministers, religious professionals, other congregational staff at the local level, as well as retired ministers and their loved ones.

TRUUsT

Transgender Religious professsional UUs Together

The Mission of TRUUsT is to support Unitarian Universalist trans+ religious professionals, advocate for each other and our ministries, and transform Unitarian Universalism and our world.

Paths to Ministry

How does someone become a UU minister?

by Liz James

“For Unitarian Universalists, ministry is not a supernatural state of any kind. It’s a choice, a process, and an ongoing relationship.”

Emily’s Biography

by Emily Conger

“My call is to help Unitarian Universalists connect within, among, and beyond in innovative ways. The 20+ years of formation it took from Call to Ordination was quite a powerful journey. Thank you for joining me!”

Ministries Emily is Serving Currently

The Longmont UU Presence

The LUUP is a thriving Unitarian Universalist dinner church ministry that nourishes bodies and spirits through food and ritual. It is a place where we practice the art of relationship, create an interdependent community, and support families in raising spiritually mature UUs. The LUUP partners meaningfully and sustainably with the Longmont community.

Nourish: UU Dinner Church Consultants

Rev. Aisha Ansano & Emily Conger can help you to cultivate thriving dinner church ministries in your community. Dinner church is all about nourishing bodies and spirits through food and ritual. We’ll leverage our expertise and creativity to support you!

Contact Emily Conger

Cards and Cloths can be sent to:
4 Phelps St., Salem, MA 01970

(Emily is staying in Salem with family during the pandemic.
She continues to serve her ministries and will be in Salem for the ordination.)

Artist Attribution

Background Art by Anne Gifford. Used with Permission.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email